Safety Exit


As Presented at our 2023 Bricks and Mortar Gala

Stonewall Recovery Porchlight Award presented by Sue Deyell, QR Calgary

This award celebrates an individual who has risen to the challenge of fostering a safe community for queer individuals. These individuals have seen a need, whether it be opening their door to kicked out youth, volunteering in support, or creating a community that is safe and welcoming to everyone and anyone. The person sees what needs to be done and just does it. They are an advocate but would never use that word to describe themself.

Presented to: Dave Richards (Deva Dave)

Stonewall Recovery First Brick Award Presented by Alex Gysen, TD

In honour of those who have thrown the first metaphoric brick (or not), this award celebrates those who never stop fighting for what's right, who stand up and ensure each person in the 2SLGBTQ+ community is represented and treated with respect and equality. Whether it be the queer individual struggling with addiction, with no place to call home, the trans person who is denied healthcare, or the teenager afraid to come out. This award represents the struggle to do what is right and the drive to never back down in the face of adversity.

Presented to: Janis Irwin

The Obelisk Award Presented by Brittney Sawyer and Steve Archambault, Stonewall Recovery

Like a pillar of granite or marble, this award recognizes a volunteer of the stonewall recovery team who is steadfast, unmovable and holds up the community. This member shows unwavering commitment to the mission and vision of Stonewall Recovery Centre. Volunteers are a cornerstone of not-for-profit organizations.

Presented to: Cassidy ElDarazi & Dee Murphy


Our sponsors play a crucial role in the functionality and progress of Stonewall Recovery. We are very grateful to every one of our sponsors for their contributions and we must say that we would not be where we are without you! If you haven't donated yet, don't wait! Your name could be here!


Simon House Recovery Centre
Global Calgary
Country 105
QR Calgary
Calgary Foundation
TD Canada Trust
Alpine Psychology
Letters Apparel
Rouge Restaurant
Mode Models
Zaetl Electrolysis
Centre for Sexuality
The Cross House Restaurant
PurposeMed Inc
The Church of St. Lawrence
Onyx & Ivy
Smash Crafts YYC
Royal Vancouver Yacht Club


Brittney Sawyer
Steven Archambault
Dr. John Rook
Donna Lightbown
Carol Busby
Bernie L'Hirondelle
Doug Olson
Nina Nikitiuk
Jenn Leonard
Fronie Humber
Sanchia Bignell
Harmoni Olsen
Marie Lloyd
Kimberly Welling
JJ Brewster
Helen Gilchrist
Barbara Boothman
Heather Cook
Susan Boon
Jeremy Luk
Kim Melvin
Elizabeth Szarka
Ariel Doiny
Kathryn Jenkins
Ariel Kim
Joanna Piekarski
Jocelyn Hyslip
Kirsten Toews
Linda Bossler
Nav Shergill
Pat Cole
Rosman Valencia
Maria Wu
Domingo Lumanog
Natasha Goddard
Jennifer Kent-Charpentier
Lisa Belter
Zach Little
Court Ellington
Tracy Howk
Niraj Singh
Gillian Lueke
Dan Stern
Deadra Berkan
Luiz Lisboa
Jas badyal
Michael Lisboa-Smith
David Inhaber
Brad McCarty
Rajneet Garha
Aleishia Hidalgo
Shailynn Zaetl
Evan Stirling
Donna Stirling
Louise Lessard
Jacob Skarra
Priya Reynaud
Deana Murphy
Raine Velde Webber